Skip to content

SMCC Strengths Advocates

Mission

South Mountain Strength Advocates support SMCC’s journey to become a strengths based college where all succeed by being encouraged to do what they do best every day. Advocates work to ensure that every SMCC student and employee is confident in their strengths and in how to apply them to gain academic, social, professional, and personal success.

Roles of SMCC Strengths Advocates:

  • Advocates facilitate SMCC Strengths Workshops for employees and students.
  • Advocates assist faculty members in building strengths based college programs and curriculum.
  • Advocates assist managers and supervisors in building strengths based teams and departments.
  • Advocates mentor and advise students and staff in personal strengths development.

Requirements to become a SMCC Strengths Advocate:

  • Advocates are volunteers.
  • Advocates have completed a minimum of 9 hours of Strengths Training at SMCC.
  • Advocates have completed the Strengths Mentoring and Advising Program.

Interested in becoming a South Mountain Strengths Advocate?
Email  julie.wechsler@southmountaincc.edu

 

SMCC Strengths Advocates

Tim Budworth

Tim Budworth

Director of Technology & Media Services
tim.budworth@southmountaincc.edu
Achiever | Maximizer | Learner | Strategic | Activator

 

 


Todd Eastin

Todd Eastin

Director of Athletics
todd.eastin@southmountaincc.edu
Relator | Responsibility | Discipline | Self-Assurance | Command

 

 


Callan's Strengths Photo

Callan Fay, M.Ed.

Student Services Specialist, New Student Orientation
callan.fay@southmountaincc.edu
Learner | Positivity | Empathy | Achiever | Input

 

 


Suzanne Hipps

Suzanne Hipps

Director of Career and Educational Planning Services
mailto:suzanne.hipps@southmountaincc.edu
Harmony | Developer | Connectedness | Relator | Empathy

 

 


Scott Geddis

Scott Geddis

Faculty
scott.geddis@pcmail.maricopa.edu
Activator | Command | Strategic | Ideation | Relator

 

 


Osaro Ighodaro

Osaro Ighodaro

Vice President of Student Development
mailto:osaro.ighodaro@southmountaincc.edu

Relator | Strategic | Achiever | Intellection | Positivity

 

 


Christine Neill

Christine Neill

Enrollment Services Coordinator
mailto:christine.neill@southmountaincc.edu
Learner | Activator | Futuristic | Intellection | Input

 

 


Mark Nielsen

Mark Nielsen

Division Chair, Business & Information Technology
mark.nielson@southmountaincc.edu
Achiever | Harmony | Relator | Competition | Maximizer

 

 


Dr. Shari Olson

Shari Olson

College President
shari.olson@southmountaincc.edu
Achiever | Learner | Maximizer | Activator | Command

 

 


Janet Ortega

Janet Ortega

Vice President of Organizational Effectiveness & Technology
mailto:janet.ortega@southmountaincc.edu
Learner | Achiever | Analytical | Restorative | Responsibility

 

 


Jean Watermolen

Jean Watermolen

Director of Admissions Registration & Records
jean.watermolen@southmountaincc.edu